Veteran Burnaby Councillor Sav Dhaliwal Elected 1st Vice President Of UBCM


Rhona Martin Installed As New President Of Union of British Columbia Municipalities!

VANCOUVER –  Veteran Burnaby Councillor Sav Dhaliwal was elected 1st Vice President of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM), which elected its Table Officers for its 2013-2014 Executive Board on Friday.

Rhona Martin, a Director of the Columbia-Shuswap Regional District, takes over as UBCM President, after serving the past year as First Vice President.  Outgoing President Mary Sjostrom, Mayor of Quesnel will remain on the Executive Board for the next year as Past President.

“I’m honoured to serve as president, and to continue UBCM’s work of representing all of our members across BC,” Martin said. “With many issues, including our newly endorsed report on local government finance, on the radar in the coming year, I look forward to working with our executive based on the direction provided by our membership.”

1st Vice President:           Councillor Sav Dhaliwal (Burnaby)

2nd Vice President:          Chair Al Richmond (Cariboo Regional District)

3rd Vice President:          Councillor Clair Mogolve (Campbell River)