With 7 seats, Cong wins most in Punjab but its vote share dips


n the Punjab Lok Sabha Election 2024, 13 constituencies in Punjab went to the polls in a single phase on June 1 during the Lok Sabha elections in 2024. Punjab witnessed a voting turnout of approximately 62%, with over 2.14 crore eligible electors casting their votes across the state’s 13 Lok Sabha constituencies.

Having taken the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) head on in Punjab bagging seven seats, the Congress however, saw a dip in its vote share from from 40.12 per cent in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls to 26.3 per cent in this election.

the Congress emerged victorious in 7 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party secured 3 seats, and the Shiromani Akali Dal clinched 1 seat in Punjab. Additionally, 2 independent candidates also succeeded in securing seats, making a total of 13 seats.

The 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state are Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, and Patiala.

Notably, the BJP did not secure any seats in the Punjab Lok Sabha elections. However, the BJP showcased a remarkable increase in vote share during the Punjab Lok Sabha elections, rising from 6.6 percent in 2019 to an impressive 19 percent in this recent electoral contest.

Punjab’s former Chief minister CHARANJIT SINGH CHANNI won from Jalandhar defeating BJP’s SUSHIL KUMAR RINKU by 175993 votes. Supporters of former Punjab CM Charanjit Channi were buoyed over the fact that his winning margin was more than that of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi. While Channi won with a huge margin of almost 1.76 lakh votes, the PM won by 1.52 lakh votes. “We are happy our leader has got even a more decisive mandate than that of the PM,” said Amritpal Bhonsle, Congress coordinator in Jalandhar.

From Amritsar Congress GURJEET SINGH AUJLA won by a margin of 40301 votes.

From Anandpur Sahib MALVINDER SINGH KANG of AAP won defeating Congress VIJAY INDER SINGLA by 10846.

From Bathinda Shiromani Akali Dal HARSIMRAT KAUR BADAL defeated  GURMEET SINGH KHUDIAN of AAP by a 49656.

From Faridkot Independent candidate SARABJEET SINGH KHALSA defeated AAP candidate KARAMJIT SINGH ANMOL by 70053 votes.

From Fatehgarh Sahib AMAR SINGH of Congress defeated GURPREET SINGH GP of AAP by 34202 votes.

Firozpur seat went to SHER SINGH GHUBAYA of Congress who defeated JAGDEEP SINGH KAKA BRAR, the AAP candidate by 3242 votes.

Gurdaspur constituency was won by SUKHJINDER SINGH RANDHAWA of Congress defeating DINESH SINGH BABBU of BJP by 82861.

From Hoshiarpur DR. RAJ KUMAR CHABBEWAL of AAP defeated YAMINI GOMAR of Congress by 44111.

From Patiala DR DHARAMVIRA GANDHI won by a vote margin of 14831 defeating AAP candidate BALBIR SINGH.

Khadoor Sahib seat went to AMRITPAL SINGH who defeated Congress Candidate KULBIR SINGH ZIRA by a margin of 197120 votes.